Join a Working Group

 

One of the many ways to get involved with Sustainable Cleveland is to join an active working group.  Working groups are community-based and volunteer-led groups formed during one of the Sustainable Cleveland Summits. Working group members help set the direction of the group, serve on event planning committees or volunteer for upcoming events. New members are always welcome to any of the working groups. 

 

If you would like more information about any of the working groups or ideas about how you can get involved, please contact the Sustainable Cleveland Coordinator, Cathi Lehn (clehn@city.cleveland.oh.us).

 

Download Working Groups list

 

 

GROUPS OPEN TO EVERYONE

LOCAL FOOD

See group information

Slow Money Cleveland NEO

Mission: Connects investors with local food entrepreneurs.

Contact: Dan Conway at Danc@greatlakesbrewing.com

WASTE

See group information

ZeroWasteNEO Working Group

Mission: To provide education and resources to assist with achieving zero waste goals.

Contact: Kristin Hall at khall@city.cleveland.oh.us

Plastics Working Group

Mission: To raise awareness about the threat of plastic pollution to our land and waters and to empower

citizens of all ages with solutions to reduce, reuse and recycle.

Contact: Cathi Lehn at clehn@city.cleveland.oh.us

SUSTAINABLE TRANSPORTATION

See group information

CiCLEvia

Mission: A series of open street events that will showcase unique neighborhoods, encourage people to

be physically active, and raise awareness of the benefits of automobile-free infrastructure.

Contact: Calley Mersmann at calleymersmann@gmail.com>

Website: https://www.facebook.com/ciCLEvia/

GREEN SPACES

See group information

Forest City Working Group

Mission: To provide resources and expertise to assist in the reforesting of the City of Cleveland and the

region, to raise awareness about the many benefits of trees and to bring a new appreciation for

trees to the residents of Northeast Ohio.

Contact: Chad Clink at cclink@holdenarb.org or Colby Sattler at csattler@wrlandconservancy.org

VITAL NEIGHBORHOODS

See group information

Vital Neighborhoods Working Group

Mission: To cultivate sustainable neighborhoods of choice where residents are engaged, empowered,

enlightened, resilient and self-reliant.

Contact: Marka Fields at Mfields@city.cleveland.oh.us or Brett Joseph at bjoseph59@gmail.com

OPEN TO BUSINESSES IN DOWNTOWN CLEVELAND AND UNIVERSITY CIRCLE

ENERGY EFFICIENCY

See group information

*Cleveland 2030 District

Mission: Facilitating partnerships that will create high-performance, sustainable building districts

throughout Greater Cleveland that aim to dramatically reduce the environmental impacts of

building construction and operations and that will maximize Cleveland’s economic viability and

profitability for building owners, managers and developers.

Contact: Cindy Cicigoi at cindycicigoi@2030districts.org

Website: www.2030districts.org/cleveland

GROUPS ALWAYS LOOKING FOR VOLUNTEERS

WASTE

See group information

*Upcycle Parts Shop

Mission: Dedicated to provoking creativity and promoting community through reuse.

Contact: Nicole McGee at hello@upcyclepartsshop.org

Website: www.upcyclepartsshop.org

CLEAN WATER

See group information

*Drink Local. Drink Tap

Mission: Inspires individuals to recognize and solve our water issues through creative education, events

and providing safe water access to people in need.

Contact: Erin Huber at erin@drinklocaldrinktap.org

Website: www.drinklocaldrinktap.org